Comparing Trim Levels of the 2022 Chevy Malibu

May 12th, 2022 by

The Chevrolet Malibu is a midsize sedan known for its elegant exterior styling and spacious interior. The 2022 model is no exception. It combines a strong infotainment center in the front console with luxe interior superior safety standards to take over the market for family cars that are both comfortable and practical. The 2022 Chevrolet Malibu was released with four trims, each with different features and pricing to address all aspects of Chevrolet’s customer base. If you’ve already identified the Malibu as the model for you, the next step is to decide which level offers the feature you need.

Malibu LS

Image via Flickr by johnfritman

The LS is the Malibu standard trim. It comes with a standard 1.5-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine and a continuously variable transmission. This engine provides around 160 horsepower, which is powerful for a sedan. It comes standard with front-wheel drive and seats five. This sedan comes in five neutral colors, including Dark Ash Metallic, Summit White, Mineral Gray Metallic, Quicksilver Metallic, and Ebony Twilight Metallic.

This basic trim offers the majority of the external styling you can expect from the Malibu, with rounded edges and sleek sculpting all over the exterior body. A large grill stretches out under the Chevrolet emblem and the sleek, thin headlights give the car a sporty look. It’s aerodynamic, with a strong slope on the windshield and tinted windows. It is 194 inches long and 57.9 inches tall and has four doors, leaving plenty of room for you and your passengers.

The interior of the LS offers plenty of safety features, too. It comes with 10 airbags, Daytime Running Lamps, and an HD Rear Vision Camera. On this trim, you can opt into a few additional safety features like Rear Cross-Traffic Alert, Rear Park Assist, and Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning. These safety alerts can help you protect yourself and your passengers.

This trim also offers an 8-inch touch screen with the capability to pair to your device and a six-speaker audio system. The interior is spacious and finished with cloth trim. The rear seats fold 60/40 to provide access to the trunk. This access allows you to fit some more oddly shaped cargo, like furniture or tools, into your trunk. The interior of this trim is available in Ebony and Dark Atmosphere combined with Medium Ash Gray.

Malibu RS

The LT is the next trim in line, meaning it will offer a few more bells and whistles. The engine and powertrain are essentially the same, but the LT includes two more exterior colors called Infrared Tintcoat and Twilight Blue Metallic. You can also upgrade the wheels to 18-inch rims, as opposed to the LS’s 16-inch rims. This trim level also has a spoiler on the trunk to add to its sporty look.

Additional improvements on the trim’s interior are the leather-wrapped wheel, which can be a welcome luxurious element for the driver. You can also enjoy a power driver seat that you can adjust as needed. These additional perks may improve your enjoyment of the Malibu if you’re looking for just a touch more luxury than the basic trim.

With this trim, you can opt into more safety features, including Lane Change Alert with Side Blind Zone Alert, Front Pedestrian Braking, and Forward Collision Alert. You can also opt for the Automatic Emergency Braking, which helps you hit the brakes even if you can’t operate the braking system yourself for whatever reason. These additional features can help you stay safe on the road.

Malibu LT

The LT keeps the same engine and transmission and includes front-wheel drive. It also keeps all seven exterior colors introduced in the previous trim. The exterior upgrades to LED taillights and Daytime Running Lamps. It includes heated door mirrors, which can help you maintain visibility in stormy or snowy weather. These changes are small, but they can improve your driving experience. You can include additional exterior changes, like 19-inch wheels, as opposed to the standard 16. This trim is also the first to offer an optional power tilt/slide sunroof.

This trim upgrades the color options on the interior, adding Jet Black with Jet Black Accents and Dark Atmosphere with Light Wheat accents. You can also opt for a heated steering wheel and heated seats, which can be helpful in those colder months. Dual-zone climate control is also introduced at this trim level, which is a system that allows the driver and passenger to choose their climate temperatures.

Malibu Premier

The Premier is the next trim in the lineup and it capitalizes on some of the more luxurious features that the Malibu offers. The Premier boasts a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine with 250 horsepower. It has the same number of exterior paint colors, but the interior options are only the Ebony and Dark Atmosphere with Light Wheat. This trim also comes with the same 19-inch wheels as the standard.

The car’s interior offers heated and cooled front seats and heated rear seats. You can also charge your phone wirelessly in this trim, increasing the utility of the infotainment center. The safety features in this trim contain everything included in the previous trims, but this trim level adds the Chevrolet Connected Access and the HD Rear Vision Camera as standard features. It also offers a system called StabiliTrak, an electronic stability control system that comes with traction control as well.

Check Out The 2022 Chevy Malibu at Eskridge Chevrolet

The trim levels available on the new Chevrolet Malibu provide a range of features for each customer. If you are looking for a car with all the bells and whistles, the Malibu Premier offers all the safety features and interior creature comforts you could wish for in your family sedan. However, if you’re looking for a simple car to keep you safe and comfortable, the LS is also a great option.

Contact us or stop by the Eskridge Chevrolet dealership and take them out for a test drive to try out the difference for yourself. You can also browse our online inventory.